Student Supportive Endowments and Scholarships

For scholarship deadlines and applications, visit the College of Engineering Undergraduate Studies Office Scholarships page.

Marion L. & Harriette I. Bandeen Endowed Scholarship Fund

This endowment was established in 1995 by Roger (ECE BS 1972) and Nancy (Ed. BA 1971) Bandeen, in honor of Marion L. (ENGR BS 1939) and Harriette I. Bandeen. This scholarship is intended to provide support for junior or senior students majoring in electrical engineering and computer science. Geographic preference will be given first to applicants of the greater Cadillac area, second to Calhoun County residents, followed by residents of Midland County.

Arthur T. and Pearl Butler Scholarship

This fund was established in 1976 with funds from the Estate of Arthur R. Butler, friend of MSU, to support students in education and/or electrical engineering.

A.J. Harris Endowed Scholarship in Electrical Engineering

This endowment was established in 2000 by Arthur J. Harris, II, 1965 Social Science graduate and former class president, to pay tribute to his father, Arthur J. Harris, Sr., an electrical engineering alumnus. Recipients of this scholarship are undergraduate or graduate students pursuing a degree in electrical engineering, with preference to those students who are part of an athletic program, who are participating in intramural activities, and/or who are in-state residents. This endowment will be funded through a combination of cash and planned gifts.

Gerald and Lois Park Amateur Radio Endowed Scholarship Fund

Engineering students active in the MSU Amateur Radio Club (W8SH/W8MSU). The current value of the scholarship is about $4,000 per year.

Patrick A. Moran Undergraduate Endowed Memorial Scholarship in Electrical & Computer Engineering

The estate of Metta Lee Moran created this endowed fund in 2003 in memory of her son Patrick (ECE BS 1971) and as a tribute to his deep commitment to mentoring talented young people. This scholarship supports students who have or are benefiting from a mentoring relationship with a member of the business community. This might be evidenced through participation in a co-op professional experience, an extracurricular engineering team that partners students with industry, etc. In an effort to help as many students as possible, it is the Donor's wish that partial awards be given versus full-tuition awards.

The Robert & Carol Murrel Endowed Scholarship/Fellowship in Electrical Engineering

This endowment was established in 2005 by Robert (EE BS 1956) and Carol Murrel, who were pleased to have the opportunity to "give back" to MSU. Recipients of this award are fill-time undergraduate or graduate students majoring in electrical engineering. It is the Murrel's intent that the award be potentially available to incoming freshmen who express an interest in electrical engineering.

Harriett B. Rigas Memorial Endowment for Undergraduate and Graduate Women Majoring in Electrical Engineering

This endowment was created in 1990 by Anthony L. Rigas, friend of the College of Engineering, to memorialize the life and work of Dr. Harriett B. Rigas. This endowment is intended to provide assistance to graduate and/or undergraduate students in the College of Engineering, with preference given to women pursuing a degree in electrical engineering at MSU.

The Taylor-Koch Endowed Scholarship Fund within the College of Engineering

Created by Dale (ECE BS 1978) and Lynn Koch to financially assist undergraduate students within the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Through the creation of this scholarship, the donors wish to honor the hard work and dedicated spirits of their fathers: Harold Everett Taylor and Lawrence Koch.

Mr. & Mrs. Jerome C. Walker Memorial Award Program

This endowment was created in 1994 by Leona H. Walker in honor of her late husband Jerome C. Walker (EE BS 1955) to benefit undergraduate students who are pursuing a degree in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and have demonstrated ability in the field of electrical and electronic engineering.

Walter R. Yates Memorial Scholarship

This endowment was created in 1988 with a bequest from the Walter R. Yates Trust. This scholarship goes to talented students majoring in electrical engineering.

Park-Deaver Endowment

Established 1999 as the Marion Park Deaver and Harry Gilbert Deaver. The endowment is for Undergraduate student scholarship


The Electrical & Computer Engineering Discretionary Endowment

This pooled endowment was initially created in 2002 using various unrestricted departmental funds, including donations from alumni and faculty members, including John (ECE Professor Emeritus) and Vivienne Kreer. The purpose of this fund is to provide financial support where it is needed most within the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering.

Chairs & Professorships

Richard M. Hong Endowed Chair

This endowment was established in 1995 by Richard M. Hong (EE MS 1967; PhD 1970) to honor Dr. Kun Mu Chen, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The purpose of this fund is to set a high standard of excellence for the occupant of this academic chair and to advance instruction and research in electrical engineering.

Dr. Herman E. & Ruth J. Koenig Endowed Chair in Communication Systems

This endowment was established in 2001 by Roger Koenig (ECE BS 1976) and Nancy Pierce, recognizing Roger's parents, Herman (professor emeritus and former chairperson of Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Ruth Koenig. This endowment celebrates Dr. Koenig's lifelong commitments and contributions to the subject of quantitative system theory and its many applications. The purpose of this award is to build a communications program with a depth of faculty expertise by recruiting a qualified early- to mid-career level professor with a vision in the communications industry.


Dennis P. Nyquist Electromagnetic Research Discretionary Endowment

In 2001, John R. Gulick (BS ECE 1999; MS 2001; Nat. Sci. MS 2001) initiated the creation of this endowment in honor of Dr. Dennis Nyquist (ECE PhD 1966). This flexible fund is used to support and promote electromagnetic research at MSU.

Additional Information

For information on how to contribute to a scholarship or to explore the possibility of creating an endowed scholarship of your own with a cash or planned gift, please contact the development office at 517-355-8339 or email Development: